Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique

Governing the Paracommons: the case of Palestinian Water

Tuesday 29 August | 14.00-15.30 | Room: FH 202

Why do we systematically misrepresent water in the Israeli Palestinian conflict? Whether we depict it as an immobile resource coveted by two parties: Israel and the Palestinian Authority, or as the object of a Master Plan run by the Palestinian Authority, water stars in largely fictitious accounts of its management.

            This panel addresses the governance of Palestinian water by studying its paracommons. This term designates the material gains potentially generated by the improvement of efficiency within various systems all drawing on the same source of water. Such gains are dynamic because the efficiency gain in one system often entails a loss in a neighbouring system or in a distant, yet interlinked, system. These material gains constitute a new commons, the appropriation of which needs to be governed.

            This panel explores the mechanisms governing the paracommons of Palestinian water. Prof Julie Trottier (CNRS, France), Prof Bruce Lankford (University of East Anglia, UK), Dr Stephen Hodgson (Independant consultant) and Jeanne Perrier (PhD Candidate, University Paul Valéry, France) present the results of two projects: the ANR funded “Of Lands and Waters” (2013-2017) and the AFD funded “Governing the Paracommons of Palestinian Water” (2017-2019).

Gold standard events are committed to ensure the gender balance in speakers/panellists and young professional representation in the session.


14:00 The problem with water. What’s wrong with our present approach to water?
Julie Trottier, CNRS

14:05 The paracommons approach: redefining efficiency
Bruce Lankford, UEA

14:20 Why water tenure matters
Stephen Hodgson, Independant consultant

14:35 Palestinian wastewater reuse through the lens of the paracommons and water tenure
Jeanne Perrier, Université Paul Valéry

14:50 Governing the commons of Palestinian Water
Julie Trottier, CNRS

15:00 Discussion

15:30 Close of session