Stockholm International Water Institute

Opening Plenary

Monday 27 August | 09.30-11.30 | Room: FH Congress Hall

The opening plenary of 2018 will be an opportunity to put the theme 'Water, ecosystems and human development' into context and view it from different angles. Speakers will be invited to share their insights not only from a scientific or professional perspective, but also from the heart.

The opening plenary will commence with official welcome addresses, keynotes by high-level decision-makers or renowned persons, and as is tradition, the 2018 Stockholm Water Prize Laureates. Reflecting SIWI’s new strategy, cross cutting issues – human rights-based approach, gender, and youth – will be addressed too.

This event will be livestreamed here >>


09:30    Welcome to the World Water Week 2018 Ms. Gabriela Suhoschi, Director of World Water Week and Prizes, and Mr. Torgny Holmgren, Executive Director, Stockholm International Water Institute, Stockholm International Water Institute 

09:45    Welcome to Stockholm - Ms. Karin Wanngård, Mayor of Stockholm 

09:55    Key note speaker - Water, ecosystems and human development, at the heart of the global agendas - H.E Amina J Mohammed, Deputy Secretary General, UN  

10:05    Stockholm Water Prize 2018 – Laureate’s dialogue - moderated by Ms Maggie White, Senior Manager, International Policy, SIWI

  • Professor Bruce Rittmann, Biodesign Institute, Arizona State University, USA and
  • Professor Mark van Loosdrecht, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

10:30    Key note speaker - Ms. Carin Jämtin, Director General, Swedish international Development Cooperation Agency

10:40    Key note speaker - Ms. Åsa Regnér, Deputy Executive Director, Intergovernmental Support and Strategic Partnerships, UN-Women

10:50    Panel discussion - ACT for today and tomorrow: youth representatives from academia, engaged in an environmental association, business sector, innovation and global policies,  moderated by Hon. Christine Nkulikiyinka, Ambassador , Embassy of Rwanda to the Nordic Countries

  • Ms. Amanda Janoo, Industrial Policy Analyst, independent expert for UNIDO and GIZ
  • Ms. Nidhi Nagabhatla, Chair of our Steering Committee, YPARD
  • Mr. Ryan Hreljac, Founder of the international Ryan’s Well Foundation
  • Mr. Pratap Thapa, MS. Management of Technology and Co-founder of aQysta

11:15    Special recognition award to Prof. Malin Falkenmark by Mr. Peter Forssman, Chair SIWI and Mr. Torgny Holmgren, Executive Director, Stockholm International Water Institute

11:25    Closing statement by Mr. Torgny HolmgrenExecutive Director,  Ms.  Gabriela Suhoschi, Director of World Water Week and Prizes,  and Ms. Maggie White, Senior Manager International Policy, Stockholm International Water Institute